Skip to content
   

FAQs

Bankruptcy

Bankruptcy

The primary difference between a Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 bankruptcy involves how a debtor’s debts are paid off during the bankruptcy process.

In Chapter 7, the debtor’s estate is largely liquidated. The money from the liquidation is used to pay off as much of the debt as is owed to creditors.

In a Chapter 13 bankruptcy, the debtor usually does not liquidate large portions of the estate. Instead, the debtor comes up with a plan to pay off all or a substantial portion of debts within a three to five-year period. Ultimately, filers for Chapter 13 bankruptcy get to keep more of their property. Creditors recover more money on the debts they’re owed.

Under Ohio law, you may exempt the following property from bankruptcy:

  • Up to $145,425 in home equity.
  • Up to $4,000 of value in a motor vehicle.
  • Up to $500 of cash on hand or on deposit.
  • Household items worth less than $625, up to an aggregate total of goods worth
    $13,400.
  • Up to $1,700 in jewelry.
  • Up to $2,550 in property used for your job or business.
  • Up to $25,175 in personal injury lawsuit compensation.
  • Up to 75 percent of your wages.
  • The full amount of your life insurance policy.
  • The full value of your burial plot.
  • The full amount of your workers’ compensation benefits.
  • The full amount of unemployment benefits.
  • The full value of your retirement plans or accounts.
  • Up to $1,325 of value in any property you choose. The amount can be added on to other exemptions or used to protect property that is not otherwise exempt.

The Ohio bankruptcy means test determines your eligibility to file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy when your annual household income exceeds the median income for a household of similar size in Ohio. The means test allows you to prove to the court that your disposable income cannot satisfy a repayment plan under Chapter 13 bankruptcy.

Under the means test, you add up all your sources of income, including wages, business
income, interest and dividends, pension, retirement benefits, alimony, child support, workers’ compensation and unemployment benefits. You then subtract allowable expenses from your average monthly income, such as housing costs, transportation costs, food, utilities, health insurance, and out-of-pocket medical costs.

If your monthly income for the next 60 months will not exceed $7,475, you pass the means test. If it exceeds $12,475, you fail the means test. If your monthly income falls between these amounts, you’ll need to calculate whether you have sufficient income to pay at least 25 percent of your unsecured debts over the next five years.

Although you’re not required to hire an attorney to file for bankruptcy, it is not recommended that you proceed to bankruptcy without legal assistance. A bankruptcy attorney can help you explore alternatives to bankruptcy that may have a less drastic impact on your personal finances.

If bankruptcy proves to be your best option, an attorney can make sure that your petition and court filings are filled out correctly and filed on time. Making a mistake in your bankruptcy filings can lead to the dismissal of your case, the loss of important rights and bankruptcy protections, or the imposition of fines and fees.

You should hire us because we have the knowledge, experience and resources in order to get the get you the resolution you need. We’ve been practicing law since the 20th century and we’ve grown to understand that we need to provide real solutions for real people. And that’s exactly what we want to do for you.

There’s no magic number on how much money how much debt you have to have to file bankruptcy in Ohio. But we advise that it is somewhere between $4,000 to $5,000 or more because the costs to file a bankruptcy claim in Ohio are anywhere from $400 and up

It depends on what type of bankruptcy you’re filing. In Ohio, in Chapter 7 the time period is usually a three to six months. Time period in a Chapter 13, which is a repayment plan, over a three to five year period

In Ohio, you can file a Chapter 7 bankruptcy every eight years. Read more about Chapter 7 bankruptcy from our experienced lawyers on our website!


If you call our Ohio personal bankruptcy lawyers, we can help you determine whether bankruptcy is the right option for you.

One way to determine whether bankruptcy is right for you is to look at your circumstances. If you have, you know, garnishments, repossessions, bank attachments, lawsuits, utility disconnections evictions, you’re either being evicted, or you feel the threat of an eviction foreclosure, either as a foreclosure or foreclosure is coming down the pipe to other areas are if your car payment is too high, and you feel like you just can’t make that car payment. Possibly bankruptcy is a way to get you out of that and ultimately a more affordable car. Another issue is if you have car problems, or if you’re starting to have problems with your car, and you still have a really high balance left on your car. That’s another option where we’re bankruptcy could be good for you. credit cards, credit card debt, medical debt, you know, payday loans, any other kinds of unsecured loans, high-interest loans, there’s definitely a way to get you some breathing room or get you the relief that you need based on your circumstances. So, definitely contact our law firm we can go through your particular circumstances.


If you have a good bankruptcy attorney 99% of the Chapter 7 claims that are filed will go through. Now, if you don’t have a bankruptcy attorney and try to represent yourself there’s a high probability of failure. I’d say more like 5% of the cases would go through successfully. There’s a lot of pitfalls. It’s not something I would recommend.

How much does it cost to file for bankruptcy in Ohio?


How much it costs to file bankruptcy in Ohio depends on what part of Ohio you live in and what Chapter bankruptcy you’re going to be filing. The costs range anywhere from $400 to $600, normally.

Can I file bankruptcy on medical bills in Ohio?


You can definitely file bankruptcy on medical bills in Ohio. Actually, medical bills are a major cause of bankruptcy filings. As you’re aware over the last several years, medical costs have gone up. You know, all it takes is a lot of times one unexpected surgery to cause financial devastation to someone or someone in their family.

Can I keep my cell phone in Chapter 7 bankruptcy?

You can definitely keep your cell phone after filing Chapter 7. However, you know, you can keep your cell phone keep making the payments on the cell phone pursuant to the contract that you’re in for your cell phone. Or you also have the option to get rid of the cell phone, wipe it out, and get yourself another cell phone. If you have a cell phone bill where you know you owe $1,000-$1,500 and want to get out of that and get yourself a different phone, you have that option too.

What shouldn’t I do before filing bankruptcy?

Some of the things that you shouldn’t do before filing bankruptcy are;

Don’t lie about your assets or your income. If you’re trying to hide assets or you know, misrepresent what your income is, the bankruptcy court and the trustees are going to find out, and then there’s going to be serious repercussions. A lot of times, your case will get dismissed, and those debts that you listed on your bankruptcy will be non-dischargeable forever.

Another thing is that you shouldn’t do is I wouldn’t recommend filing bankruptcy on your own. Filing bankruptcy without an attorney is something you shouldn’t do. I would definitely recommend consulting with an personal bankruptcy attorney before filing a bankruptcy.

Also, don’t run up your credit cards prior to filing bankruptcy. If you run up your credit card debt prior to filing bankruptcy, any credit card debt that you have that you’ve incurred within 90 days of the filing is something that can be disputed and objected to by the credit card companies. So you may end up paying all that credit card debt back if you try to use up your credit limit right before filing.

Don’t incur any new debt unless absolutely necessary before filing your case. A good example of that is your car dies, right? You have to get another car loan. That’s something you can avoid. You have to get that car loan and do that but don’t go out and get a personal loan, an unsecured loan to try to pay some things or you know, put some money in the bank as a result of that loan.

Is my 401k money safe during bankruptcy?


401k money is 100% protected, the court cannot touch your 401k.

It’s 100% protected unless you take it out of the 401k. If you withdraw the money out of the 401k and put it in your bank, it’s no longer protected. It’s something that the bankruptcy court can get their hands on if it’s not properly protected. And another major thing not to do prior to filing is don’t transfer any assets to family or friends prior to filing your case. A lot of people think, you know, they own real estate or they have cars, and they think “hey, before filing my case, I’m going to transfer that out of my name into my friend’s name or family’s name”. And if you do that, again, it’s something that you’re most people’s houses, most people’s cars are 100% protected, but as they start to try to transfer things prior to filing, it can make a protected asset all of a sudden become an unprotected asset and something you could lose in the bankruptcy court.

How long does it take to rebuild credit after filing for Chapter 7 bankruptcy?


You can start rebuilding your credit right away after an Ohio Chapter 7 bankruptcy filing. That’s why they call it a “fresh start bankruptcy” because you’re gonna get credit card offers in the mail car loan offers in the mail. You’ll also most of our clients. For example, chapter 7 clients can file a bankruptcy and within six months to a year after the bankruptcy, their credit score goes up 50 to 150 points. That’s most of our clients, you can definitely achieve a credit score of 700 or higher within two years of the bankruptcy filing. If you don’t own a home and you want to buy a home, a bankruptcy can help you with that. You can usually buy a home within two years of the chapter 7 bankruptcy discharge.

What Should I do Before I File for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy?

  1. One of the things you should do before filing bankruptcy is take your credit counseling course. That’s one requirement for a bankruptcy filing. It’s a telephone course. It’s something that you can register for a nominal cost. It’s just listening to a recorded voice about debt credit and budgeting. It’s usually about an hour long. That’s one thing you have to do before filing your case.
  2. Another thing you should consider doing prior to filing your case is gathering your financial documents, your pay stubs, your bank statements, your tax returns, all those things that you’re going to want to share with your attorney during the consultation or shortly after the consultation.
  3. Consider opening a new bank account, if you have creditors, a lot of times people have creditors who are taking automatic payments out of their bank account, payday loans, or taking money out of the bank account. It’s good to take open up a new bank account so that those deductions aren’t happening anymore.
  4. While you’re going ahead and proceeding with the bankruptcy filing. refer your collection calls to your attorney, this is probably the best thing you can do prior to filing your case, you don’t have to take those harassing phone calls anymore. Once you hire an attorney, refer those collection calls to your attorney. Once you have an attorney, they’re supposed to call the attorney. And if they don’t, then you let us know. And we’ll make sure that they don’t call you anymore. Ask your attorney any questions that you have and let them know if there’s a change in circumstances in your case.
  5. That’s another thing that you’ll want to do. For example, if before filing your case, if you have a job loss or a change in jobs, or a change in circumstances, good or bad, you’re going to want to make sure that you let your attorney know because that’s something that could impact your case.
  6. Another thing is you’re going to want to make sure that if you’re thinking about doing something prior to your bankruptcy filing, definitely call your attorney and talk to them about it before doing whatever you’re thinking about doing because it could have an impact on your case, it’s better to check with your attorney before actually taking that action.
  7. I’d start the process sooner rather than later. That’s one of the things prior to filing your case. Jump on the process right away if you know that bankruptcy is inevitable because of your circumstances. It’s better to do it earlier than later because of garnishments bank attachments. You know, foreclosures, repossessions, all those things can be prevented by filing for personal bankruptcy and you don’t want to be in a situation where you’re where you need to file bankruptcy and your wages are being garnished 25% of every single paycheck because then it makes it hard to get to that next step of filing.

Foreclosure Defense

Foreclosure Defense

Yes. When you file for bankruptcy, the court imposes a “stay” on all collection efforts by your creditors. This stay includes the bank that holds the mortgage on your home.

Creditors must cease efforts to collect mortgage payments. They may not file for foreclosure or continue to pursue a foreclosure action while the bankruptcy stay is in place. With the right bankruptcy filing, you can completely stop the foreclosure by restructuring your debts and getting current on your mortgage payments.

Refinancing allows you to obtain a new loan to pay off your existing mortgage, including the delinquent amount. In that way, refinancing will stop your foreclosure. However, obtaining a refinancing while your Ohio home is under foreclosure can prove difficult. A bank may not want to take a chance on you when you have been unable to make your current mortgage payments. If one of our attorneys thinks a refinancing agreement is right for you, we can negotiate for one on your behalf.

A loan modification may help you avoid foreclosure on your home. Under a loan modification, the bank agrees to restructure your mortgage and lower the payments to an amount you can afford.

A mortgage short sale is the sale of your home for less than the outstanding mortgage balance. The bank agrees to accept the proceeds of the short sale and waive the remaining balance on your mortgage. You are then released from the mortgage obligation. A short sale is typically done when the bank believes it would suffer an even bigger loss if the home was sold in a foreclosure auction.

The length of a foreclosure process will depend on several factors, including how diligent the bank is in pursuing the foreclosure and whether the process is delayed while you pursue a loan modification or bankruptcy. The average foreclosure lasts approximately 18 months from start to finish.

You should hire us because we have the knowledge, experience and resources in order to get the get you the resolution you need. We’ve been practicing law since the 20th century and we’ve grown to understand that we need to provide real solutions for real people. And that’s exactly what we want to do for you.

Motorcycle Accidents

Motorcycle Accident

Ohio’s motorcycle helmet law requires all motorcycle operators under the age of 18, or those who hold a “novice” motorcycle license, to wear a helmet. The law also requires helmets for motorcycle passengers under the age of 18 as well as for all passengers, regardless of age, riding on a motorcycle operated by an individual with a “novice” license.

An individual aged 18 or older seeking a motorcycle license or a motorcycle endorsement to their driver’s license must first obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card. A TIPIC is issued to individuals 15 years and six months of age or older who have passed the state’s motorcycle knowledge test and taken the required vision test. Any time after obtaining a TIPIC, a rider may take the skills test for a motorcycle license.

Individuals under 18 must:

  • Complete the probationary driver’s license requirements.
  • Hold a TIPIC for at least six months.
  • Complete driver education with at least 24 hours of classroom or online instruction and eight hours of driving time.
  • Complete 50 hours of driving with at least 10 hours of nighttime driving.
  • Complete a motorcycle education safety course.

Once those requirements are met, the rider will be permitted to complete the skills test for a motorcycle license or endorsement.

Lane splitting is prohibited in Ohio. Lane splitting includes riding along lane-dividing lines or alongside other vehicles in the same lane during stopped or slow-moving traffic. A motorcycle cannot ride beside another motor vehicle in the same lane of traffic, except that two motorcycles may ride side-by-side in the same lane (this is sometimes called lane sharing).

This is where we can really help you. There are a lot of tools available to you to pay your medical bills, your health insurance, your automobile insurance, medical payment benefits, letters of protection. No one case has one solution. There’s a lot of different solutions for a lot of different injury cases and we can help you out in getting those medical bills addressed by using the best tools that you have to do it.

When you sign a release, that’s it. Adios. So long… Farewell! You’ve given up your rights to pursue the other party for anything they did wrong in the event of an accident. Beware, sometimes insurance companies will send you a check that acts as a release. Don’t sign it, don’t cash it, call us and we’ll talk you through it.

Well, what if I’m partially responsible for the accident? Does that eliminate my opportunity to recover? The answer is no. As long as you’re not more than 51% responsible for the accident in the state of Ohio, you’re not subject to what they call comparative negligence. If you’re more than 51% negligent, then you get no recovery.

I get asked; “If I had a pre-existing condition to my back and I’m in an accident and I hurt my back. Does that eliminate any chance of recovery?” The answer is no. The best way to explain it as this is if you were a 5 out of 10 in pain before the accident, and after the accident, you’re an 8 out of 10. The other party is responsible for the 5-8, so you are entitled to recover. It’s our job to figure out what your injuries were at before and to find out what level you are now after the accident.

There are two main types of damages in automobile accidents. There’s property damage, that’s the damage that’s done to the vehicle. And then there’s bodily injury damage. That’s the damage that’s done to you. What that means is you’re entitled to recover for your injuries, as well as your pain and suffering. Those are called economic and non-economic damages, which we can get into deeper, but that’s how they break down. You’re entitled to your medical bills, as well as your pain and suffering.

You also may be entitled to things like lost wages for when you couldn’t go to work, or if you had to hire someone at your house to do jobs that you normally had to do like mow the lawn or get the leaves out of the gutters. There’s a lot of things that you’re entitled to recover for that the insurance company is never going to tell you about.

When an adjuster calls, the most important thing to do is listen, get their name, get their telephone number, get the claim number and the policy number. Remember, the insurance adjuster works for the insurance company. They’re in business for the insurance company. They’re not in business to help you get the information you need from them, then relay that when you speak to your personal injury attorney.

Generally in Ohio, you have two years to file a lawsuit after an automobile accident. Now, there are plenty of exceptions to that rule. If you have a minor involved or if there’s an intentional action, there’s a variety of things. So not every case is to yours. So please contact us and we’ll talk through it and let you know what it is.

A lot of times people will call us soon after the accident, and they’ll tell us they’re not feeling any pain. Well, it’ll take 24 to 48 hours sometimes after an accident to really feel those injuries. So, if you’re injured in the accident, please give us a call. Another time people worried that they’re not injured in the accident if they had a pre-existing condition. You have to remember that, you can get a recovery for aggravation of that pre-existing condition. That’s different than what you had before the accident.

That’s the biggest question we have. And that’s what we’re here for to answer that question. In order to have a case you need three things, you need an accident, you need an injury, and you need insurance coverage. When you contact us, we’ll go through all of those things to make sure all those boxes are checked and to take care of you.

Everybody wants to know; “what do I do after an accident”? The first thing you need to do if you’re injured is; go to the emergency room and get treatment. After that, we can worry about other things like who’s responsible for the accident, and what the police report says. Once we get those, we’ll be able to evaluate the claim and contact the necessary parties in order to help you out and get your case started.

The value of your claim is based on two things, the nature of your injuries and the extent of your treatment. If you’re injured and you don’t get the appropriate treatment for your injuries, you’re not going to get the appropriate outcome for your injuries either.

Personal Injury

Personal Injury

Unfortunately, no magic formula exists to determine the value of your injuries. We must consider various factors – for example, the nature of the injuries, the extent of the medical treatment or the available insurance coverage – before we can start discussing the value of a claim.

As an example, we had a client who was in an accident and broke her arm. She required a cast, but after the cast was put on, she disappeared and did not communicate with our office. When she finally resurfaced, we found out she had not seen any other doctors to examine her injury. In fact, she took the cast off with a hacksaw. Unfortunately, that case did not resolve for the amount it could have because the client didn’t get the proper medical treatment or stay in touch with us.

That is why we always follow up with our clients about their medical treatment. We want them to get better. We want to present the best case we can and obtain the best result.

When we work for you on a contingency-fee-basis, we do the work upfront. We get all the information. We front all the expenses to get the medical records. We hire the experts, pay the court fees and cover other costs of your case. If we are successful, we receive a percentage of the total compensation we obtain for you as our fee. If we are not successful in getting compensation for you, we don’t get paid at all.

That’s why we ask our clients so many questions upfront. We want to determine if they have a good case. Remember, it costs nothing to call us and find out.

You should hire us because we have the knowledge, experience and resources in order to get the get you the resolution you need. We’ve been practicing law since the 20th century and we’ve grown to understand that we need to provide real solutions for real people. And that’s exactly what we want to do for you.

Well, no, you don’t need a lawyer if you’re comfortable dealing with multibillion-dollar corporations that are in business to pay you as little as possible. Otherwise, hire a lawyer. When you hire a personal injury lawyer, I work on a contingency fee which means I don’t get paid unless you get paid. So you understand I’ve got some skin in the game. I want you to get as much as possible.

A lot of times automobile accidents happen while you’re working for your employer. What happens then? Well, you’ve actually got two claims. You’ve got a workers compensation claim, and you got a personal injury claim. Although these claims are not the same, they’re almost like cousins. They sound alike, but they’re not the same. We can help you find the necessary representation for a worker’s compensation claim, if necessary.

When you’re in an accident you’re entitled to recover for the time you’ve missed from work. However, it’s very important you let us know that at the beginning of the case so we can put the necessary people on notice. A lot of times people own their own business and they don’t do such a good job of keeping records. That’s why it’s important for us to know that at the beginning of the case, so we can create the paper trail in order to get you the necessary compensation for your lost wages.

This is where we can really help you. There are a lot of tools available to you to pay your medical bills, your health insurance, your automobile insurance, medical payment benefits, letters of protection. No one case has one solution. There’s a lot of different solutions for a lot of different injury cases and we can help you out in getting those medical bills addressed by using the best tools that you have to do it.

It used to be that you had to come into the office and sign the papers and we had to photocopy them and give you the check, etc. Now with technology, we can do a lot of things over the internet and direct deposit your check right in your account. So you don’t need to come into the office in order to get your money.

When you sign a release, that’s it. Adios. So long… Farewell! You’ve given up your rights to pursue the other party for anything they did wrong in the event of an accident. Beware, sometimes insurance companies will send you a check that acts as a release. Don’t sign it, don’t cash it, call us and we’ll talk you through it.

Well, what if I’m partially responsible for the accident? Does that eliminate my opportunity to recover? The answer is no. As long as you’re not more than 51% responsible for the accident in the state of Ohio, you’re not subject to what they call comparative negligence. If you’re more than 51% negligent, then you get no recovery.

I get asked; “If I had a pre-existing condition to my back and I’m in an accident and I hurt my back. Does that eliminate any chance of recovery?” The answer is no. The best way to explain it as this is if you were a 5 out of 10 in pain before the accident, and after the accident, you’re an 8 out of 10. The other party is responsible for the 5-8, so you are entitled to recover. It’s our job to figure out what your injuries were at before and to find out what level you are now after the accident.

There are two main types of damages in automobile accidents. There’s property damage, that’s the damage that’s done to the vehicle. And then there’s bodily injury damage. That’s the damage that’s done to you. What that means is you’re entitled to recover for your injuries, as well as your pain and suffering. Those are called economic and non-economic damages, which we can get into deeper, but that’s how they break down. You’re entitled to your medical bills, as well as your pain and suffering.

You also may be entitled to things like lost wages for when you couldn’t go to work, or if you had to hire someone at your house to do jobs that you normally had to do like mow the lawn or get the leaves out of the gutters. There’s a lot of things that you’re entitled to recover for that the insurance company is never going to tell you about.

When an adjuster calls, the most important thing to do is listen, get their name, get their telephone number, get the claim number and the policy number. Remember, the insurance adjuster works for the insurance company. They’re in business for the insurance company. They’re not in business to help you get the information you need from them, then relay that when you speak to your personal injury attorney.

Generally in Ohio, you have two years to file a lawsuit after an automobile accident. Now, there are plenty of exceptions to that rule. If you have a minor involved or if there’s an intentional action, there’s a variety of things. So not every case is to yours. So please contact us and we’ll talk through it and let you know what it is.

A lot of times people will call us soon after the accident, and they’ll tell us they’re not feeling any pain. Well, it’ll take 24 to 48 hours sometimes after an accident to really feel those injuries. So, if you’re injured in the accident, please give us a call. Another time people worried that they’re not injured in the accident if they had a pre-existing condition. You have to remember that, you can get a recovery for aggravation of that pre-existing condition. That’s different than what you had before the accident.

That’s the biggest question we have. And that’s what we’re here for to answer that question. In order to have a case you need three things, you need an accident, you need an injury, and you need insurance coverage. When you contact us, we’ll go through all of those things to make sure all those boxes are checked and to take care of you.

Everybody wants to know; “what do I do after an accident”? The first thing you need to do if you’re injured is; go to the emergency room and get treatment. After that, we can worry about other things like who’s responsible for the accident, and what the police report says. Once we get those, we’ll be able to evaluate the claim and contact the necessary parties in order to help you out and get your case started.

The value of your claim is based on two things, the nature of your injuries and the extent of your treatment. If you’re injured and you don’t get the appropriate treatment for your injuries, you’re not going to get the appropriate outcome for your injuries either.

Car Accidents

Car Accident

If you have been injured or if your car is damaged, then the answer is yes. You need to know your rights as soon as possible. It is always free to call us and find out. Keep in mind that insurance companies are not your friends. They want you to take as little money as possible, as fast as possible. Insurance adjusters call that tactic “go away” money.

Remember, car accident victims are at a disadvantage against insurance companies that routinely handle car accident claims. Injury victims that deal directly with the insurance companies can damage their case in such a way that a car accident attorney can’t help them.

As a general rule, if someone else caused your car accident, that party can be held responsible for repairs to your vehicle. However, if you have an older vehicle that was damaged in your car accident, the insurance company may simply choose to declare your vehicle “totaled.” That means that the cost to repair your vehicle is greater than its entire value. The insurance company will simply pay the cash value of your vehicle. You can then choose whether to spend the money fixing your vehicle or purchasing another one. You can help show the cash value of your vehicle by providing real-world transactions for the same make and model of your vehicle.

When you’re in an accident you’re entitled to recover for the time you’ve missed from work. However, it’s very important you let us know that at the beginning of the case so we can put the necessary people on notice. A lot of times people own their own business and they don’t do such a good job of keeping records. That’s why it’s important for us to know that at the beginning of the case, so we can create the paper trail in order to get you the necessary compensation for your lost wages.

This is where we can really help you. There are a lot of tools available to you to pay your medical bills, your health insurance, your automobile insurance, medical payment benefits, letters of protection. No one case has one solution. There’s a lot of different solutions for a lot of different injury cases and we can help you out in getting those medical bills addressed by using the best tools that you have to do it.

When you sign a release, that’s it. Adios. So long… Farewell! You’ve given up your rights to pursue the other party for anything they did wrong in the event of an accident. Beware, sometimes insurance companies will send you a check that acts as a release. Don’t sign it, don’t cash it, call us and we’ll talk you through it.

Well, what if I’m partially responsible for the accident? Does that eliminate my opportunity to recover? The answer is no. As long as you’re not more than 51% responsible for the accident in the state of Ohio, you’re not subject to what they call comparative negligence. If you’re more than 51% negligent, then you get no recovery.

I get asked; “If I had a pre-existing condition to my back and I’m in an accident and I hurt my back. Does that eliminate any chance of recovery?” The answer is no. The best way to explain it as this is if you were a 5 out of 10 in pain before the accident, and after the accident, you’re an 8 out of 10. The other party is responsible for the 5-8, so you are entitled to recover. It’s our job to figure out what your injuries were at before and to find out what level you are now after the accident.

There are two main types of damages in automobile accidents. There’s property damage, that’s the damage that’s done to the vehicle. And then there’s bodily injury damage. That’s the damage that’s done to you. What that means is you’re entitled to recover for your injuries, as well as your pain and suffering. Those are called economic and non-economic damages, which we can get into deeper, but that’s how they break down. You’re entitled to your medical bills, as well as your pain and suffering.

You also may be entitled to things like lost wages for when you couldn’t go to work, or if you had to hire someone at your house to do jobs that you normally had to do like mow the lawn or get the leaves out of the gutters. There’s a lot of things that you’re entitled to recover for that the insurance company is never going to tell you about.

When an adjuster calls, the most important thing to do is listen, get their name, get their telephone number, get the claim number and the policy number. Remember, the insurance adjuster works for the insurance company. They’re in business for the insurance company. They’re not in business to help you get the information you need from them, then relay that when you speak to your personal injury attorney.

Generally in Ohio, you have two years to file a lawsuit after an automobile accident. Now, there are plenty of exceptions to that rule. If you have a minor involved or if there’s an intentional action, there’s a variety of things. So not every case is to yours. So please contact us and we’ll talk through it and let you know what it is.

A lot of times people will call us soon after the accident, and they’ll tell us they’re not feeling any pain. Well, it’ll take 24 to 48 hours sometimes after an accident to really feel those injuries. So, if you’re injured in the accident, please give us a call. Another time people worried that they’re not injured in the accident if they had a pre-existing condition. You have to remember that, you can get a recovery for aggravation of that pre-existing condition. That’s different than what you had before the accident.

That’s the biggest question we have. And that’s what we’re here for to answer that question. In order to have a case you need three things, you need an accident, you need an injury, and you need insurance coverage. When you contact us, we’ll go through all of those things to make sure all those boxes are checked and to take care of you.

Everybody wants to know; “what do I do after an accident”? The first thing you need to do if you’re injured is; go to the emergency room and get treatment. After that, we can worry about other things like who’s responsible for the accident, and what the police report says. Once we get those, we’ll be able to evaluate the claim and contact the necessary parties in order to help you out and get your case started.

The value of your claim is based on two things, the nature of your injuries and the extent of your treatment. If you’re injured and you don’t get the appropriate treatment for your injuries, you’re not going to get the appropriate outcome for your injuries either.

Associations & Awards
  • bbb accredited business logo
  • lawyers.com logo
  • ohio state bar association logo
  • super lawyers logo
Six Locations To Meet You
Akron
Cincinnati
Independence
Columbus
Beavercreek
Canfield